top of page
Search

Dagny is the underrated artist you need to know

Updated: Oct 2, 2020

Today was a normal day until YouTube’s algorithms blessed me by proposing me a song by Dagny called “It’s Only a Heartbreak”. Too bad I heard the song when I had just published an article on the top 5 sad bangers to dance to because I would have certainly added that one to my list (by the way, if you haven’t read the article yet, go check it!).



As I started doing some research, I deep dove into her music, and I was surprised to see that the songs are fresh and uplifting, the videos are energetic, and every single detail is taken care of with the highest attention. These are songs that you could really hear on the radio – if only more people knew that they existed. I’m pretty sure that if Selena Gomez released one of her songs, that would be an instant hit.


As I listened to her songs, I was both happy about the gem I had just found and sad that I had never heard of her before.


Underrated artists always seem fascinating. Sometimes you don’t even care if their music is good or bad – you’re just happy you found a singer you can somehow call yours. And you know, we sometimes make the mistake of being jealous of the good underrated musicians. We think that no one but us can listen to them, as we’re afraid that the music industry might change them. It’s as if we had found a treasure (and this also makes us feel like we have such good taste in music) that we don’t want to share with anyone. Please, don’t make this mistake. If you really appreciate someone’s music, share it with the people you know, put it on your public Spotify playlist, play it at your friend’s house party, I don’t care – just spread the damn word. Every artist struggles to be recognized, and if you’re keeping a singer for yourself you’re just being selfish.


Now, back to our subject: Dagny, huh? To make a long story short, Dagny is a Norwegian songwriter who became famous in 2017 with “Backbeat”, a pop song that immediately resulted in 40 million streams. After that, she was featured in Billboard’s 10 Pop Stars to Watch In 2017, and she further published the Ultraviolet EP, later releasing songs like “Wearing Nothing” and “Love You Like That”. To make sure you listen to these songs, I will just bless your feed by simply putting the link to both of them right here, right now. Oh, and pay attention to the second one (“Love You Like That”) – does it remind you of anything?




If you’re thinking Katy Perry, you got it right! Dagny co-wrote Katy Perry’s “Never Really Over” (released in 2019, from her album Smile) and indeed if you compare Katy’s song with “Love You Like That” they kind of resemble each other in terms of both beat and structure. If you think that “Never Really Over” peaked at #1 On Dance Club Songs, this is a bit sad. Of course, Dagny had the opportunity to co-write a song with an amazing singer as Katy Perry, but come on, we know that our Norwegian girl deserves more than this – don’t we?


Hopefully she will get more recognition as soon as her debut album is released (it is set to be published later this year). As soon as that happens, you can be sure that I will listen to the album the day it comes out. The question is: will you? I hope you will.

Comments


Don't be shy! Contact us

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page